Learninng Experiences

This post is my own personal reflection about how information is given to me and the emotions and the effects it has on my life. I have the utmost respect for the university I attend and the decisions they have to abide by.  Those who know me are aware that I am passionate about many people and experiences happening around us. Some of these include the Arts, environmental issues and equality for everyone including people with disabilities. I have been studying Social Work for a while now and have been working with the university over several years so I can complete my degree despite having Cerebral Palsy. A conference call occurred during Thursday morning which was meant to make the situation clearer. Instead, it was suggested that I  do an associate degree. I was shattered into tears as I have worked so hard and this is not what I intended. It took me a couple of days to find my way again. It was like being told that I didn’t fit into their mould. The university sent me a lot of information via emails. I know that they’re trying to help me, but all it’s done is made me question my life. Receiving information in those volumes and to make decisions about which path to go down is overwhelming.  This is exactly why I was destined to be a social worker. I want to assist and advocate for many people.  There are so many more layers to me than there appears to be. The irony is that there is not an Ang shaped box. If people are patient and take the time to get to know me, a lot can be learned and understood better. People who know me well know that I try my best at everything I set my mind to. There’s been so much happening in my life this year that has thrown me curveballs, but I keep learning. This is a learning experience for everyone, I included.

Leave a Reply

