Not Just A Dog 

Any pet owner will understand the love shared between parent and pet. Anyone who knows me well can see this with my dog, Sammy and I. Sammy is not a traditionally trained assistance dog, but he has changed my life for the better. Both of our lives have changed. Before Sam came into my life, I was pretty messed up. Not only was I trying to find my way through adulthood, but I also learning how to negotiate my way with Cerebral Palsy. I didn’t know where I fitted in or where I was going. By this point, I had been told regularly that I was not worthy of anything. When you hear that often enough,  it becomes a conscious thought. I have had bouts of depression throughout my life and have tried to take my own life due to the pain it causes. When Sammy came into my life though, everything changed. Yes, the “black dog” still rears its ugly head every now and then, but I know Sam needs me. I can look at him through tears and I know he will love and understand me no matter what. I know that I have changed his life too. When Sam came to me, he was in poor health and was so timid. Now he is a confident little man. Some people think that he’s just a dog, but he’s my son and best friend. I would recommend a pet to anyone. They’re full of unconditional love. I’m so grateful to have Sammy in my life.

Leave a Reply

